Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
About Phi Delta Phi International

The Oldest & Most Prestigious Legal Society in North America - Founded 1869

Phi Delta Phi International, established in the year 1869 to promote a higher standard of professional ethics, is among the oldest of legal organizations in North America. Phi Delta Phi was established only six months after the Columbus, Ohio Bar Association and nine years before the American Bar Association. It holds a unique position in the history of the North American bench, bar and the law schools. During the past three decades, Phi Delta Phi's reputation as an organization devoted to legal excellence has begun to spread into México and Europe.

Phi Delta Phi has one hundred and thirty-one active chapters -- called Inns -- in the Western Hemisphere and the number increases yearly. Phi Delta Phi has initiated in excess of 200,000 members.


The total initiated membership of Phi Delta Phi exceeds 200,000 persons. More judges, American presidents, governors, senators, representatives, cabinet members, ambassadors, American Bar Association presidents, Association of American Law School presidents and law school Deans have come from the ranks of Phi Delta Phi than from any other legal society.

American presidents, Supreme Court justices and prominent members of the bar and bench who have been initiated into Phi Delta Phi include:

Howard H. Baker, Jr.
James A. Baker, III
Birch E. Bayh
Hugo Black
Robert H. Bork
William J. Brennan
Ellen Burns
Benjamin N. Cardozo
Pamela Carter
Archibald Cox
Gerald R. Ford
Joyce Hens Green
Charles Evans Hughes
Daniel K. Inouye
Henry M. Jackson
Thomas Penfield Jackson
Leon Jaworski
Anthony M. Kennedy
Robert F. Kennedy
Patrick Leahy
Karl Llewellyn
Thurgood Marshall
William McKinley
Gerald T. McLaughlin
Edwin Meese, III

Walter Mondale
Malcolm W. Monroe
Sandra Day O'Connor
R. Thomas Olson
Samuel Pierce,Jr.
Lewis F. Powell, Jr.
William L. Prosser
James Danforth "Dan" Quayle
Dana Rasmussen
Sam Rayburn
William H. Rehnquist
Stephen R. Reinhardt
Owen J. Roberts
Franklin D. Roosevelt
Theodore Roosevelt
Antonin Scalia
Myra C. Selby
William French Smith
Kenneth W. Starr
John Paul Stevens
Adlai Stevenson
Potter Stewart
William H. Taft
Earl Warren
Byron R. White
Wendell Willkie

Prominent members of the bench, bar and political community from Canada, include:

Rosalie Abella
John Aird
Lincoln Alexander
Louise Arbour 
W. Ian Binnie
Archie Campbell
Jules Deschenes
Alan B. Gold
Peter Hogg
Paul S. A. Lamek
Claire L'Heureux-Dubé

Lauren Marshall
Roland Martland
Beverley McLachlin
R. Roy McMurtry
Daniel R. Michner
John W. Morden
William D. Parker
Robert J. Pirie
Bob Rae
James B. Southey
John Napier Turner

Notable members from México and Guatemala include:

Luisa de Padilla
Fernando Elizondo
Francisco Garcia Jimeno
José Gomez Gordoa
Francisco José Castillo L. Genera
David Gongora Pimentel
Arturo Salinas-Martinez
Luis Santos
Ricardo Sagastume
Pedro Zorilla